Skip to Main Content

Minnesota State Law Library

Loren W. Collins, Associate Justice 1887-1904

Opinions

"During his sixteen years of service on the supreme court bench Justice Collins wrote 1318 opinions and 38 dissents. They are recorded in volumes 37 to 91 of the Minnesota Reports."

From History of the Minnesota Supreme Court by Russell O. Gunderson; Section XIII, pg. 104

Publications and Speeches

The Expedition Against the Sioux Indians in 1863: Under Gen. Henry H. Sibley by L.W. Collins
Call Number: E83 .86 .C69
Publication Date: 1895
Available at the Minnesota Historical Society. Written account of Collin's experience in an expedition against the Dakota in 1863.
Memorandum of Sibley's expedition, 1863 by Loren W. Collins
Call Number: Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center
Publication Date: 1863
This is a diary kept by Collins while on march with the Sibley Expedition as part of the 7th Minnesota during the Dakota Conflict.
Sketch of Sibley's expedition [of] 1863, 1888 April 4. by Loren W. Collins
Call Number: Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center
Publication Date: 1888
Speech given before the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the U.S. (Minnesota Commandery).
The Story of a Minnesotan by Loren Collins
Call Number: Spec Coll KF373.C65 A3 1913
Publication Date: 1913
Justice Collins's autobiography, available digitally through HathiTrust
Biographical Sketches of Justices of the Minnesota Supreme Court from Territorial Days to 1976
Call Number: KF371.B5 1976
Progressive men of Minnesota: Biographical sketches and portraits of the leaders in business, politics and the professions; together with an historical and descriptive sketch of the state
Call Number: Special Collections Room F 605 .S56
Publication Date: 1897
Link goes to section on Loren Collins

An Incomplete History of the Establishment of Courts in Minnesota, by Loren Warren Collins - MN Legal History Project

Newspaper Articles

Additional Resources

Fifty years in the Northwest : With an introduction and appendix containing reminiscences, incidents and notes by William H.C. Folsom
Publication Date: 1888
History of the Bench and Bar of Minnesota by Hiram Stevens
Call Number: Special Collections Room KFM5478 .H5
Publication Date: 1904
Link goes directly to section on Justice Collins biography. (Provided by Hathi Trust digital library.)
History of the Minnesota Supreme Court by Russell O. Gunderson
Publication Date: 1937
The link goes to chapter 13, see pages 103-104
Men of Minnesota; a collection of the portraits of men prominent in business and professional life in Minnesota
Call Number: Special Collections Room F 605 .M4 1915
Publication Date: 1902
Link opens to portrait of Justice Collins. (Provided by Hathi Trust digital library.)
Progressive men of Minnesota: Biographical sketches and portraits of the leaders in business, politics and the professions; together with an historical and descriptive sketch of the state
Call Number: Special Collections Room F 605 .S56
Publication Date: 1897
Link goes directly to biography of Justice Collins.
Saint Paul, history and progress; principal men and institutions; biographical sketches and portraits of leading citizens; descriptive accounts of her enterprises ... by Pioneer Press
Publication Date: 1897
Link goes to the section on Justice Collins

Christmas Is Coming - Such Good Boys, 1903 - Hennepin County Library Digital Collections
Caricature - Loren Collins, Frank Eddy, and Robert Dunn, all candidates for governor, crowd Minnesota's doorstep with offers of help.
Judge Collins' Thanksgiving, 1903 - Hennepin County Public Library Digital Collections
Caricature - Loren Collins holds the Judgeship turkey; the Nomination for Governor and Governorship Election turkeys roost in a nearby bush. A gopher laughs and looks on. The caption reads "The Bird in Hand and the Two in the Bush." Judge Collins was considering running for Governor of Minnesota in 1904, but would have to resign his seat to do so.
Loren W. Collins and family papers, 1862-1954
Manuscript collection available at the Minnesota Historical Society. Includes personal letters and biographical data on Loren and his sons Louis Loren and Stewart G.
History of the Bench and Bar, Minneapolis Journal, Silver Anniversary Ed., Nov. 26, 1903, p.90
History of the Minnesota Supreme Court, 4 Green Bag 113 & 161 (1892)
Loren Collins biography begins in p. 53.
The ancestry of Loren Warren Collins and the line of Ella Margaret Stewart., 1958 - Minnesota Historical Society
Our Portrait, 2 Minn. L.J. 236 (1894).