Library Research Guides: Charles E. Flandrau, Associate Justice, Territorial Supreme Court, 1857-1858, Supreme Court, 1858-1864: Publications

Artifacts

Rare envelope containing "Rock Bend" in address; sent to Charles E. Flandrau, Rock Bend, Minnesota Territory - MN Digital Library

Writings by and about Charles Flandrau

Charles Flandrau resources bibliography

The United States biographical dictionary and portrait gallery of eminent and self-made men. Minnesota volume.
Publication Date: 1879
Link goes to page with biographical information about Charles E. Flandrau.

The Life and Influence of Judge Flandrau by Hon. Greenleaf Clark
Vol. 10, pt.2 Collections of the Minnesota Historical Society, p. 771-772, (1905)

Progressive men of Minnesota: Biographical sketches and portraits of the leaders in business, politics and the professions; together with an historical and descriptive sketch of the state
Call Number: Special Collections Room F 605 .S56
Publication Date: 1897
Link goes directly to biography of Justice Flandrau.
Territorial Bench of Minnesota, Parts I, II, & III by Isaac Atwater
Call Number: Main KF354.M6 T47 1888
Publication Date: 1887
Published in Magazine of Western History, Volume 7

Memorial Addresses in Honor of Judge Charles E. Flandrau
Vol. 10, pt.2, Collections of the Minnesota Historical Society, pp. 767-830, (1905)
Writings by Charles E. Flandrau held at the Minn. Historical Society
“Charles E. Flandrau: Attorney at War.” R.W. Fridley, Minnesota History vol. 38, no. 3, September, 1962.

The history of Minnesota and Tales of the frontier by Charles E. Flandrau
Call Number: Main F606 .F58
Publication Date: 1900
History of the bench and bar of Minnesota by prepared under the direction of Hiram F. Stevens
Publication Date: 1904
2 Volumes
This title is also available in the library's Special Collections Room.
Encyclopedia of biography of Minnesota : History of Minnesota by Charles E. Flandrau
Call Number: Reference F605 .F53
Publication Date: 1900
Fifty years in the Northwest : With an introduction and appendix containing reminiscences, incidents and notes by William H.C. Folsom
Publication Date: 1888
Narrative of the Indian war of 1862-1864, and following campaigns in Minnesota by Charles E. Flandrau
Address delivered before the Ramsey County Pioneer Association May 11, 1886
Publication Date: 1886
The Law, Courts, and Lawyers in the Frontier Days of Minnesota: An Informal Legal History of the Years 1835 to 1865 by Robert J. Sheran & Timothy J. Baland
Call Number: Special Collection KFM 5908 .S53 1976
Publication Date: 1976

Cheryl Heilman, Minnesota Lawyers and Judges Who Made History, 65 Bench & Bar of Minnesota 20 (no.5, May-June 2008).

Minnesota's Legal Hall of Fame, Minnesota Law & Politics, Aug. 2007
Charles Flandrau is #28 on the list.

Supplement, 17 MEDICO-LEGAL J. 1 (1899).

Newspaper Articles

In 1899, Flandrau had a recurring column in the St. Paul Daily Globe entitled "A Short Frontier Story" which covered different topics of historical interest in Minnesota. See the attached bibliography at the top of this page for links to all the stories in that series as well as other stories involving Justice Flandrau.

Charles E. Flandrau, Associate Justice, Territorial Supreme Court, 1857-1858, Supreme Court, 1858-1864

Biographies of Minnesota Appellate Court Justices and Judges

Contact Us

Email: Ask A Librarian

Artifacts

Writings by and about Charles Flandrau

Newspaper Articles