Skip to Main Content
Minnesota State Law Library
Minnesota State Law Library
Library Research Guides
Dr. Thomas Foster, State Librarian January 24-Nov. 7, 1861
Research Resources
Search this Guide
Search
Dr. Thomas Foster, State Librarian January 24-Nov. 7, 1861
Biography
Research Resources
Documents
Obituaries
Biographies of Minnesota Appellate Court Justices and Judges
Minnesota Supreme Court Justices
Minnesota Court of Appeals Judges
Contact Us
Email: Ask A Librarian
Phone: 651-297-7651
Hours: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm, M-F
Research Resources
The Iowa; a reprint from the Indian record, as originally pub. and ed. by Thomas Foster, with introduction and elucidations through the text by William Harvey Miner
by
Dr. Thomas Foster
Publication Date: 1911
Letter of Dr. Thomas Foster, of Minnesota, to the committees of Indian affairs and of appropriations, relative to appointment of a historiographer of the Indian Department, to prepare an encyclopaedia of Indian affairs and to organize an Indian archaeolog
by
Thomas Foster
Call Number: Gale Family Library at the Minnesota Historical Society
Publication Date: 1873
Pen pictures of St. Paul, Minnesota, and biographical sketches of old settlers : from the earliest settlement of the city, up to and including the year 1857
by
T.M. Newson
Publication Date: 1886
Link goes to p. 151, the section on Thomas Foster
Collections of the Minnesota Historical Society: Minnesota biographies, 1655-1912
by
Warren Upham and Rose Barteau Dunlap
Call Number: Special Collections Room F 601 .M66 vol. 14
Publication Date: 1912
Link goes to page with information on Dr. Thomas Foster
Collections of the Minnesota Historical Society, vol. 10, pt.1, Chapter The Treaty of Traverse Des Sioux in 1851, under Governor Alexander Ramsey, with Notes of the Former Treaty There in 1841, under Governor James D. Doty of Wisconsin, by Thomas Hughes,
Call Number: Special Collection F601 .M66 vol. 10 pt.1
Publication Date: 1905
Collections of the Minnesota Historical Society, vol. 10, pt.1, Chapter: Journalism in the Territorial Period, The Minnesotian
Call Number: Special Collection F601 .M66 vol. 10 pt.1
Publication Date: 1905
History of Dakota County and the City of Hastings, Including the Explorers and Pioneers of Minnesota
by
J. Fletcher Williams
Publication Date: 1881
History of Duluth and St. Louis County, past and present.
by
Dwight E. Woodbridge
Publication Date: 1910
Chapter 13: The Press of Duluth
The Minnesotian - MNHS
Willoughby M. Babcock, With Ramsey to Pembina A Treaty-Making Trip in 1851, 38 Minnesota History 1 (issue 1, March 1962)
July 4, 1868: Thomas Foster coins Duluth's nickname, the "Zenith City of the Unsalted Seas"
Thomas Foster family papers - University of Minnesota Duluth Library Archives
Minnesota SP Ramsey Mill and Old Mill Park - National Archives
National Register of Historic Places, with a description of how Dr. Thomas Foster was involved in the building of the original mill.
Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1793-1999, Letter to Dr. Thomas Foster from Edward P. Smith, Image #531 - National Archives
Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1793-1999, Foster's Indian Record and Historical Data, Image #477
Treaty of Mendota | The U.S.-Dakota War of 1862 - Minn. Historical Society
Records and Briefs in the case of Wistar v. Foster, April 1891
Wistar v. Foster, 46 Minn. 484 (July 3, 1891)
William F. Marvin v. Clarence H. Foster, 61 Minn. 154 (May 23, 1895)
John C. Haugland, Politics, Patronage, and Ramsey's Rise to Power, 1861-63, 37 Minnesota History 324 (December 1961)
John A. Wyeth, Cold Cheer at Camp Morton, 41 Century Illustrated Monthly Magazine 844 (April 1891)
Treatment of Prisoners at Camp Morton: A Reply to "Cold Cheer at Camp Morton," 42 Century Illustrated Monthly Magazine 757, (September 1891)
Newspaper articles
Original Sketch of the History and Geography of Minnesota Territory, Minnesota Pioneer, August 15, 1850, p.1 column 7
Article written by Dr. Thomas Foster
Vermillion Falls, Point Douglas and Prescott, Weekly Minnesotian, July 3, 1852, p.2, column 2
Describes a plot of land near Hastings where Dr. Foster has built a cottage for his family.
Meeting of the Merchants and Business Men of St. Paul, to Organize a Board of Trade, Daily Minnesota Pioneer, Dec. 1, 1854, p.2
Republican Convention, Minnesota Weekly Times, July 31, 1855, p.1
Sheriff's Sale [of property of Dr. Thomas Foster], Emigrant aid journal of Minnesota, March 31, 1858, p. 6
How the Minnesotian Obtains its Late News --- A Narrative, with a "Morale" Dedicated to Dr. Thomas Foster, Weekly Pioneer and Democrat, December 14, 1860, p.2
Proceedings of the Republican State Convention, Weekly Pioneer and Democrat, Sept. 13, 1861, p.6
Dr. Thomas Foster, Weekly Pioneer and Democrat, March 28, 1862, p.2 column 1
The Hastings Gazette says... St. Cloud Journal, March 19, 1868, p.3
Lake Superior Railroad, St. Cloud Journal, April 22, 1869, p. 2, column 2
Reports from Washington state... St Cloud Journal, March 13, 1873, p.2, column 3
Death by Drowning, Superior Times [Superior, Wisconsin], Aug. 22. 1874, p.4, column 1
Third Termism and Know-Nothingism, Anti-Monopolist, Dec. 2, 1875, p.1, column 5
Mrs. Foster... Superior Times [Superior, Wisconsin], June 23, 1877, p.4, column 2
Divorce of Hannah and Dr. Thomas Foster
Marriage Licenses, Evening Star [Washington, D.C.], Dec. 26, 1878, p.1, column 7
Alexandria Bulldozers, Evening Star [Washington, D.C.], March 26, 1880, p.4, column 2
Current Topics: It is reported that Dr. Thomas Foster... Northern Pacific Farmer [Wadena, MN], Feb. 24, 1881, p.2, column 1
A Sensational Case, Duluth Evening Herald, March 20, 1893, p.6, column 3
Early Journalism, St. Paul Daily Globe, Feb. 16, 1894, p.5
Buck's Bluntness: Despicable Conduct on the Part of a Husband is Denounced from the Supreme Bench, St. Paul Daily Globe, May 24, 1895, p.8, column 1
Lawsuit over Hannah Foster's estate is decided by the Minnesota Supreme Court.
News in Minnesota, Auditor Castle... Mower County Transcript, Nov. 23, 1898, p.6
Washington Notes, Minneapolis Journal, Jan. 24, 1901, p.3, column 4
Dr. Thomas Foster... Emmons County Record [Williamsport, N.D.], May 9, 1902, p.2, column 5
Suggest Traverse Des Sioux for the Mural Painting: Members of the Historical Society Propose the Important Event as Appropriate Subject for Decoration of New Capitol, St. Paul Globe, June 24, 1903, p.10, column 4
Dr. Thomas Foster attended the original event
Early Days of Minneapolis Journalism, Minneapolis Journal, Nov. 26, 1903, p.6 Silver Anniversary Ed.
Dr. Thomas Foster...[Exerpts Taken from St. Paul Papers of Forty Years Ago] Redwood Gazette, April 11, 1906, p.7
<<
Previous:
Biography
Next:
Documents >>
Email: Ask A Librarian