Skip to Main Content

Minnesota State Law Library

Minnesota Territory 1849-1858

Sources

Charles E. Flandrau, The History of Minnesota and Tales of the Frontier (Reproduction, E.W. Porter, 1900).
Call Number: F 606 .F58
ISBN: 9781359223319
This is a reproduction of a book authored by one of Minnesota's Territorial Supreme Court Justices.
Collections of the Minnesota Historical Society, vol. 10, pt.1, Chapter The Treaty of Traverse Des Sioux in 1851, under Governor Alexander Ramsey, with Notes of the Former Treaty There in 1841, under Governor James D. Doty of Wisconsin, by Thomas Hughes,
Call Number: Special Collection F601 .M66 vol. 10 pt.1
Publication Date: 1905
First annual report and catalog of the Territorial Library of Minnesota, 1850 by Charles Cavileer
Call Number: Z733 .F57 1850
Publication Date: 1850
Letter from Charles Cavileer to Alexander Ramsey -- 1st annual library report 1850 -- Transcript of letter and report -- Territorial Library catalog.
The Frontier of Justice: The Early Years of the Minnesota State Courts by Carol Chomsky
Call Number: Main KFM 5478 .C46 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Unpublished draft
Gopher reader: Minnesota's story in words and pictures, selections from the Gopher historian by Alice Hermina Poatgieter & James Taylor Dunn, eds.
Call Number: Special Collections F606 .G6
Publication Date: 1958
History of Minnesota by William Watts Folwell
Call Number: Special Collection F606 .F68 4 Vols.
Publication Date: 1924-1930
History of the bench and bar of Minnesota by prepared under the direction of Hiram F. Stevens
Publication Date: 1904
2 Volumes
This title is also available in the library's Special Collections Room.
History of the Minnesota Supreme Court by Russell O. Gunderson
Call Number: Main KFM5912 .G7
Publication Date: 1937
The Law, Courts, and Lawyers in the Frontier Days of Minnesota: An Informal Legal History of the Years 1835 to 1865 by Robert J. Sheran & Timothy J. Baland
Call Number: Special Collection KFM 5908 .S53 1976
Publication Date: 1976
Making of Minnesota Territory, 1849-1858 by Marilyn Ziebarth & Anne R. Kaplan
Call Number: Main F606 .M34 1999
ISBN: 0873513738
Publication Date: 1999
Minnesota: The Land of Sky-Tinted Waters: a History of the State and Its People by Theodore Christianson
Call Number: Special Collections F 606 .C48 1935 5 vols.
Publication Date: 1935
Minnesota and its people by Burnquist, Joseph
Call Number: Special Collections Room F606 .B96 1924
Publication Date: 1924
4 Vols.
Minnesota in Three Centuries, 1655-1908 by Frank R. Holmes
Call Number: Special Collections F 606 .M664 1908 4 Vols.
Publication Date: 1908
Territorial Bench of Minnesota, Parts I, II, & III by Isaac Atwater
Call Number: Main KF354.M6 T47 1888
Publication Date: 1887
Published in Magazine of Western History, Volume 7
Testimony: Remembering Minnesota's Supreme Court Justices by Minnesota Supreme Court Historical Society
Call Number: Main Collection KF372 .T47 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The Thirty-Second State: A Pictorial History of Minnesota by Bertha L. Heilbron
Call Number: Main F 607 .H4 1966
Publication Date: 1966