Special Collections Room Virtual Tour

The criminal prosecution and capital punishment of animals, 1906

This book discusses the law and how it applied to animals over the years, particularly when their actions were considered criminal.

'Execution of a Sow' from the book The Criminal Prosecution and Capital Punishment of Animals

This image from the book is a fanciful rendering of an execution that took place in France in 1386. The sow was convicted of infanticide. It is originally from the book L'Homme et la Bête by Arthur Mangin, published in 1872.

Broom's Legal Maxims: A selection of legal maxims, classified and illustrated, 1845

This book was formerly owned by the Minnesota Territorial Library, but was sold in 1876. It was repurchased by the library in 2016. It includes the original accession plate and the sales note. Ironically, this sale probably saved the book, since the library burned in 1881 with the rest of the state capitol.

A complete history of the trial of Guiteau, assassin of President Garfield, 1882

This book includes an account of the shooting, capture, trial and execution of Charles J. Guiteau as well as an account of his life from his wife.

Illustration 'Leaving the Courthouse after the verdict' from A Complete History of the Trial of Guiteau, Assassin of President Garfield

History of Ramsey County and the city of St. Paul. Including the explorers and pioneers of Minnesota, 1881

A kalender, or table, comprehending the effect of all the statutes that have beene made and put in print : beginning with Magna charta, 1608

This is the second oldest book in the collection. The book lists the laws enacted in England over the nearly 400 years after the Magna Carta was signed. Our copy has been rebound in a sturdy cover and several of the pages have been reinforced, but it is otherwise in very good condition. If you look closely you can see the impressions in the paper from the printing process.

The first plant patents: a discussion of the new law and Patent office practice; abstracts of 84 patents and history of the law, 1934

This book is unique in our collection for a few reasons. It is the only book on patents in the Special Collections Room; it’s also the only book on plants. It has a number of drawings in the book to illustrate the different patents submitted.

'Rose, Plant Patent 63' from The First Plant Patents

This is a sketch based on an original color drawing submitted with the patent application for Rose filed October 27, 1932. The sketch is by Charlotte Erskine.

Progressive men of Minnesota. Biographical sketches and portraits of the leaders in business, politics and the professions; together with an historical and desciptive sketch of the state.

Published by The Minneapolis Journal, this 1897 work offers brief biographical sketches of men from business, politics, and other professions who were considered by the Journal to have taken leading roles in the development of Minnesota. The book also includes historical and descriptive sketches of the state.

George Washington, 1896

A biography of George Washington by Woodrow Wilson, 28th president of the United States.

Statutes of the Realm

These volumes are very large. Before the library had a protected area for rare books, each member of the staff was assigned a volume of this series to save in the event of a fire. Thankfully the books are now protected by the fire-suppressing gas installed in the room.