Minnesota State Law Library
Minnesota State Law Library
The Justice Collection includes materials by or about our Minnesota Supreme Court Justices. The majority of the collection has been developed since the 1980s, however there are a few older materials as well. Career books and transcripts of oral histories make up the bulk of the collection.
Career books for retired Supreme Court Justices are compiled by the library with the direction of the justice. Not every retired justice has created one, but it is encouraged. Oral history interviews are conducted with the assistance of the Minnesota Supreme Court Historical Society and the transcripts are kept in this collection as well. In addition, books written by the justice and commercially published materials about justices are preserved in the Special Collections Room.
The library collects materials published about the justices by other sources as well, including titles from commercial publishers. These are the only two full biographies published about a Minnesota Supreme Court Justice.
The Professional Career of Fallon Kelly was the first career book published by the Minnesota State Law Library. It was an idea advocated by former state law librarian Marvin R. Anderson. A transcript of an oral history interview with Justice Kelly is included in the back, however, the recording no longer exists.
The first children's book written by Justice Alan Page and his daughter Kamie Page. He has written four books now, the most recent about harvesting and cooking maple syrup.
Justice Scott's book describes his life and career and also includes some of his poetry.
Justice Wahl's book includes biographical materials and excerpts from an interview as well as newspaper clippings and reflections on her fellow justices.
